Exodus 20, 1-17

Then God delivered all these Commandments:

1. "I, the Lord, am your God, who brought you out of the land of Egypt, that place of slavery. You shall not have other gods before me. You shall not carve idols for yourselves in the shape of anything in the sky above or the earth below or in the waters beneath the earth; you shall not bow down before them or worship them. For I, the Lord, your God, am a jealous God, inflicting punishment for their father's wickedness on the children of those who hate me, down to the third and fourth generation; but bestowing mercy down to the thousandth generation, on the children of those who love me and keep my Commandments.

2. You shall not take the name of the Lord, your God, in vain. For the Lord will not leave unpunished him who takes his name in vain.

3. Remember to keep holy the sabbath day. Six days you may labor and do all your work, but the seventh day is the sabbath of the Lord, your God. No work may be done then either by you, or your son or daughter, or your male or female slave, or your beast, or by the alien who lives with you. In six days the Lord made the heavens and the earth, the sea and all that is in them; but on the seventh day he rested. That is why the Lord has blessed the sabbath day and made it holy.

4. Honor your father and mother, that you may have a long life in the land which the Lord, your God, is giving you.

5. You shall not kill.

6. You shall not commit adultery.

7. You shall not steal.

8. You shall not bear false witness against your neighbor.

9. You shall not covet your neighbor's wife.

10. You shall not covet your neighbor's house, nor his male or female slave, nor his ox or ass, nor anyhting else that belongs to him."

The Seven Deadly Sins

  1. Pride.................Which comes before the Fall
  2. Jealousy or Avarice...Which destoys Relationships
  3. Envy..................Which leads to Unhappiness and Dissatisfaction
  4. Sloth or Acedia.......Which leads to an Unproductive Life
  5. Gluttony..............Which leads to Heart Disease and Diabetes
  6. Wrath or Anger........Which leads to Violence and War
  7. Lust..................Which leads to STD's and AIDS
These were classified according to the Virtues they oppose
by St. Gregory the Great in the 4th century as "Capital Sins",
because they so often engender evil, other sins and
ultimately the Breaking of the Ten Commandments,
which leads to Destruction and Death, hence "Deadly Sins".
This List has withstood the Test of Time & Truth and
led to many centuries of Shakespere & Soap Opera. :-)
Agricultural Parables
Character & Leadership
Utopia Springs Church and Charity Links
Utopia Springs Heaven Sites
Warrior Island Books & Links
Utopia Now Page